The Senate on Tuesday confirmed the nominations of 16 members of the Niger Delta Development Commission Board, but rejected the nominations of Mr. Olatokunbo Ajasin, son of the former governor of old Ondo State, late Chief Michael Adekunle Ajasin, as a representative of the state on the board and that the Abia State, Mr. Donatus Enyinnah.


Both Ajasin and Enyinnah were rejected on the ground that their nominations breached the NDDC Act, as they are not from oil-producing areas of their respective states while the nomination of a member of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Senator Osita Izunaso, who is currently the national organising secretary of the party, was not confirmed as he had earlier declined the offer to serve on the board owing to the opposition to his nomination.

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari had sometime in July this year sent a list of 19 nominees to the Senate for confirmation as members of the Board of NDDC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here