Reports coming in from the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly have indicated a minor shake up in the House leadership during today, March 21, 2017, plenary sitting.

The Speaker of the House, Mr Onofiok Luke, announced the replacement of the Deputy Leader of the House, Mr Aniekan Bassey representing Uruan state constituency with the Member representing Ibiono Ibom State constituency, Mr Ime Okon. While the Member representing Eket State Constituency, Mr David Lawrence replaced the Deputy Chief Whip and Member for Onna state constituency, Mr Nse Essien.

Changes were also made at the committees’ level where Mr Aniekan Bassey was removed as the chairman, House Services Committee to the Committee on Science and Technology and Mr Otobong Ndem representing Mkpat Enin state constituency takes over the chairmanship of the House Services Committee.

The Speaker stated that the decision of the House has been approved by the Members of the Peoples’ Democratic Party in the House of Assembly who wrote to him demanding the change in leadership of the House.

More details loading,,,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here