The National Leader of the All Progressives’ Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, and the party’s National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, have assured the people of Akwa Ibom State better days ahead when the APC Gubernatorial Candidate in Akwa Ibom State, Obong Nsima Ekere, becomes Governor in 2019.

Both APC leaders spoke on Friday during the presidential campaign flag-off for the South-South Zone in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Tinubu, who spoke first, recalled the performance records of the Victor Attah and Godswill Akpabio governments in Akwa Ibom State and assured Akwa Ibom people that Ekere would bring back development to the state.

His words: “Unlike PDP government there now, they keep complaining. They keep drawing us back. Attah came in, performed creditably well. Akpabio came in, Godswill Akpabio, you saw development, progress of this state. Ever since, happiness has frozen. We are waiting for Nsima Ekere to take over and bring development and happiness to this state. By the Grace of God Almighty, we are going to get victory.”

On his part, Oshiomhole who presented the symbolic flag to Ekere and three other candidates in the South-South Zone, said the Akwa Ibom State APC flagbearer was coming to govern the state with a rich experience.

Said he: “His Excellency is a man who is not coming to learn because he has job experience in the state and he is currently the Chief Executive Officer of NDDC. My own brother, my own friend, my own comrade, His Excellency, Obong Nsima Ekere.”

Speaking on behalf of the other candidates, Ekere assured President Muhammadu Buhari, who listened raptly to him on the podium, of victory in the Niger Delta region in the February 16, 2019 presidential election.

He thanked the APC for their nomination and pledged that they will mobilize massively to ensure victory for all the party’s candidates in the elections.

The other Gubernatorial Candidates presented with flags at the rally were Senator John Owan Enoh (Cross River State), Chief Great Ogboru (Delta State) and Pastor Tonye Cole (Rivers State).

The rally was attended by 14 APC Governors, namely Mr. Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Owelle Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Senator Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Dr. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Senator Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Malam Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Alhaji Aminu Masari (Katsina), Senator Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Alhaji Kashim Shettima (Borno), Senator Mohammed Jibrilla (Adamawa), Mr. Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Alhaji Yahaya Bello (Kogi).

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha, ministers and other top Federal Government officials were also present.

Credit: Inemesit Ina


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here